Information on PFOS and PFOA

PFOS, PFOA and PFTs in connection with textile finishes

CONTACTFORM

Media discussions about perfluor octanesulphonic acid (PFOS), perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) and perfluorinated surfactants (PFTs) in connection with textile finishes have been generalised. The impregnation of textiles for the purpose of making them water and oil-repellent has, by mistake, been named to be the source of the compounds mentioned.

However, PFOS, PFOA and PFTs are not used for finishing textile substrates; the majority originates from other fields of application such as polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) compounds, galvanic processes, use in fire-extinguishing foams etc.

In textile auxiliaries for the water/oil-repellent finishing, the criticised perfluorinated acids and surfactants can at most be contained as byproducts in the range of < 0.5 ppm caused by manufacturing.

As mobile fluorine compounds have been used for years, PFOA, PFOS and other PFTs are ubiquitously detectable.

The analytical methods for determining perfluorinated substances are constantly being refined - not least with a view to further protecting the environment and to be able to prove even extremely small quantities of fluorine compounds in the range of only a few „parts per billion“ (ppb). Improved analytical methods are confirming the worldwide existing basic pollution.

For producing fluorocarbon polymers, RUDOLF uses monomers from a process in which, as intended, no perfluorooctanesulphonic acid (PFOS) arises or accumulates as a by-product.

The classic C8 fluorocarbon range by RUDOLF GmbH may contain smallest amounts of perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) only, which arises as a byproduct from the perfluorinated monomers that are used for polymerisation. The detectible amount of PFOA on finished textiles is within ppb range if commonly used quantities are applied.

With high-performance products of the C6 ®RUCO-GUARD and C6 ®RUCOSTAR product range, RUDOLF has offered alternatives to the classic C8 fluorocarbon resins for many years. Monomers of a shorter chain length are used here which cannot biodegrade into PFOA, not even in the long run.

A further level of development is BIONIC-FINISH®ECO, durable water repellency without fluorocarbon resins. It provides very good, sustainable and durable water-repellent properties.

No perfluorinated compounds are used for manufacturing BIONIC-FINISH®ECO products. Thus, ®RUCO-DRY ECO and ®RUCO-DRY ECO PLUS are not based on substances that contain perfluorinated groups.

Information zu PFOS und PFOA

PFOS, PFOA und PFT im Zusammenhang mit textiler Ausrüstung

KONTAKTFORMULAR

PFOS, PFOA und PFTs werden jedoch nicht für die Ausrüstung von textilen Substraten eingesetzt, sondern stammen mit der überwiegenden Menge aus anderen Einsatzgebieten wie Polytetrafluorethylen (PTFE)-Beschichtungen, Galvanikprozessen, Einsatz in Feuer-löschschäumen etc.

In Textilhilfsmitteln zur hydrophoben/oleophoben Ausrüstung können die in die Kritik geratenen perfluorierten Säuren und Tenside allenfalls als herstellungsbedingte Nebenprodukte im Bereich von < 0,5 ppm enthalten sein.

Durch den jahrelangen Gebrauch von mobilen Fluorverbindungen sind PFOA, PFOS und andere PFTs jedoch ubiquitär nachweisbar.

Nicht zuletzt mit Blick auf den Schutz der Umwelt werden die analytischen Methoden zur Bestimmung perfluorierter Substanzen stetig verfeinert, um auch extrem geringe Mengen von Fluorverbindungen im Bereich weniger „parts per billion“ (ppb) nachweisen zu können. Verbesserte Analysenmethoden belegen die weltweit bestehende Grundbelastung.

Die RUDOLF GmbH verwendet für die Fluorcarbonpolymere Monomere aus einem Prozess, bei dem bestimmungsgemäß keine Perfluoroctansulfonsäure (PFOS) als Nebenprodukt anfällt.

Die klassische C8-Fluorcarbon-Reihe der RUDOLF GmbH kann in kleinsten Mengen lediglich PFOA als Nebenprodukt aus den zur Polymerisation genutzten perfluorierten Monomeren enthalten. Die nachweisbare Menge PFOA des ausgerüsteten Textils liegt bei industrieüblichen Einsatzmengen daher im ppb-Bereich.

Mit leistungsstarken Produkten aus der C6-®RUCO-GUARD- und C6-®RUCOSTAR-Gamme bietet die RUDOLF GmbH seit vielen Jahren Alternativen zur klassischen C8-Fluorcarbonharzausrüstung. Hier kommen kürzerkettige Monomere zum Einsatz, die auch langfristig nicht zu PFOA abgebaut werden können.

Eine weitere Entwicklungsstufe stellt die permanente Hydrophobierung ohne Fluorcarbonharze mit BIONIC-FINISH®ECO dar, mit der sehr gute, nachhaltige und permanente Wasserabweisungen erzielt werden können.

Zur Herstellung der Produkte für BIONIC-FINISH®ECO werden keine perfluorierten Verbindungen in der Rezeptur eingesetzt. Somit basieren ®RUCO-DRY ECO und ®RUCO-DRY ECO PLUS nicht auf Substanzen, die perfluorierte Gruppen enthalten.

Die mediale Diskussion über Perfluoroctansulfonsäure (PFOS), Perfluoroctansäure (PFOA) und perfluorierten Tensiden (PFT) im Zusammenhang mit textiler Ausrüstung wurde sehr undifferenziert geführt. Fälschlicherweise wurde als Quelle für die genannten Verbindungen die Imprägnierung von Textilien zum Zweck der Hydrophobierung/Oleophobierung genannt.