Regulation of Treated Articles

for the U.S. Market

CONTACT US

SILVERPLUS® products, later on called “SILVERPLUS® are antimicrobial additives to be used to treat textiles. They are designed to be incorporated during the finishing process to impart antimicrobial activity of the finished textile products. SILVERPLUS® suppresses the growth of bacteria which cause unpleasant odors, discoloration, staining or deterioration. No finished product incorporating SILVERPLUS® may make any public health claims relating to antimicrobial activity without first obtaining an EPA registration for the finished product which permits such claims. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulatory requirements associated with treated fabrics and surfaces are complex. Specific label claims made on finished textiles treated with SILVERPLUS® may trigger EPA regulatory jurisdiction and the requirement to register the finished product with the EPA. Products that incorporate SILVERPLUS® are subject to the labeling requirements as identified in the U.S. “Treated Article Exemption Policy” (PR Notice 2000-1, http://www.epa.gov/PR_Notices/pr2000-1.pdf)

Any product offered for sale in the U.S. that claims to control or mitigate pests, including microorganisms, must be registered by the EPA. However, the EPA will exempt, from the registration requirements, articles that have been treated with an antimicrobial preservative such as SILVERPLUS® provided the label claims on the finished article are limited to preservation of the article itself and not protection of the user against pathogenic organisms.

EPA will allow what they consider “non-public health” claims as identified in PR Notice 2000-1 on products. Examples of acceptable non-public health claims would include:

  • claims to inhibit or prevent the growth of odor causing bacteria;
  • claims to inhibit the growth of mildew or mold that may cause deterioration of the product.

Examples of unacceptable claims include:

  • antibacterial, bactericidal, germicidal;
  • controls both gram positive and negative bacteria.

To ensure compliance with U.S. EPA regulations, you may wish to hire an expert in the area of the U.S. treated article policy. Rudolf GmbH recommends Technology Sciences Group Inc. located in Washington, DC. (www.tsgusa.com). For further information, please contact, Erin Tesch at etesch(at)tsgusa(dot)com or 202-828-8966.

Verordnung zu behandelten Artikeln

für den US-amerikanischen Markt

KONTAKTFORMULAR

Dies ist eine Übersetzung aus dem Original, welches hier ersichtlich ist

SILVERPLUS®-Produkte, im Folgenden SILVERPLUS® genannt, sind antimikrobielle Zusätze für die Textilbehandlung. Sie werden während des Veredlungsprozesses hinzugesetzt, um fertigen Textilprodukten antimikrobielle Aktivität zu verleihen. SILVERPLUS® unterbindet das Bakterienwachstum, das unangenehme Gerüche, Verfärbungen und Flecken verursacht oder zu Verschleiß führt. Kein veredeltes SILVERPLUS® enthaltendes Produkt darf ohne eine vorherige EPA-Registrierung des veredelten Produktes, die Auslobungen erlaubt, allgemeine gesundheitsbezogene Auslobungen hinsichtlich der antimikrobiellen Aktivität machen. Die gesetzlichen Anforderungen der amerikanischen Umweltbehörde (EPA) im Zusammenhang mit behandelten Textilien und Oberflächen sind komplex. Spezielle Auslobungen auf Etiketten für mit SILVERPLUS® ausgerüstete Textilien können die Zuständigkeit der EPA-Behörde nach sich ziehen und die EPA-Registrierung des veredelten Produktes verlangen. SILVERPLUS®-enthaltende Produkte unterliegen Kennzeichnungsanforderungen, wie in der US-amerikanischen „Treated Article Exemption Policy“ (Ausnahmeregelungen bei behandelten Artikeln) (PR Notice 2000-1 (Pestizid-Registrierung Bekanntmachung), http://www.epa.gov/PR_Notices/pr2000-1.pdf) festgelegt.

Jedes Produkt, das in den Vereinigten Staaten zum Verkauf angeboten wird und damit wirbt, Schädlinge einschließlich Mikroorganismen zu kontrollieren oder zu reduzieren, muss bei EPA gelistet sein. EPA wird jedoch Artikel, die mit einem antimikrobiellen Konservierungsmittel wie SILVERPLUS® behandelt wurden, von den Registrierungsanforderungen befreien, sofern sich die Auslobungen auf den Etiketten der veredelten Artikel auf die Konservierung des Artikels selbst beschränken und sich nicht auf den Schutz des Verbrauchers vor krankheitserregenden Organismen beziehen.

EPA gestattet, was als nicht allgemeine gesundheitsbezogene Auslobung betrachtet wird, wie in PR Notice 2000-1 zu Produkten festgelegt. Bespiele für akzeptable nicht allgemeine gesundheitsbezogene Auslobungen wären,

  • dass das Wachstum von geruchsverursachenden Bakterien gehemmt oder verhindert wird
  • dass zum Produktverfall führendes Schimmelwachstum gehemmt wird

Beispiele für nicht akzeptable Auslobungen sind:

  • antibakteriell, bakterizid, keimtötend
  • kontrolliert sowohl grampositive als auch gramnegative Bakterien

Um die Einhaltung der US-amerikanischen EPA-Verordnungen zu gewährleisten, können Sie einen Experten auf dem Gebiet der U.S. Treated Article Policy hinzuziehen. Rudolf GmbH empfiehlt Technology Sciences Group Inc. in Washington DC (www.tsgusa.com). Sollten Sie weitere Informationen benötigen, wenden Sie sich bitte an Frau Erin Tesch (etesch(at)tsgusa(dot)com oder Tel: +1-202-828-8966)